Three for One

6 Feb

I came home for part of the weekend this week and my mom said that I could make dinner tonight.  I asked if it was all right if I tried a recipe that was on my to-do list.  She said absolutely!  AND she said I could make an appetizer, as well.  Then, I decided to surprise everyone with a dessert.

So, tonight, I made Spinach & Artichoke dip and the Tuscan Chicken Simmer.  (I also made asparagus a la Rene (my roommate), but that one wasn’t on my to-do list!)  For dessert, I chose the Oreo Truffles.  I’ve already made the regular Chocolate Truffles, but I wanted to try a little something different and I already had some of the ingredients, so I just needed some Oreos.

The dip went splendidly.  It was relatively easy to make, aside from actually FINDING the artichoke hearts.  I couldn’t find them for the longest time!  But, making the dish and eating it was great.  It tasted delicious with Tostitos.  Then the chicken was also delicious.  I loved the way the tomatoes just popped in your mouth.  The sauce really complimented the tomatoes.  I think I’m going to add asparagus next time, just to add some more color. My parents were excited to hear that I had made dessert, and were shocked that I chose truffles again.  Needless to say, they went over well.  Everyone loves chocolate in this family!

Overall, I’d say today was a success!

*Here are some pictures of the dinner we had!*

One Response to “Three for One”

  1. Mandi's Mom February 14, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    The Spinach & Artichoke dip was really yummy!

Leave a Reply

