Fire Station BBQ

31 Mar

From the time I was born, I have always lived within walking distance of the Oak Ridge Fire Station.  It was definitely reassuring for me, knowing that if my wooden house ever caught fire, it would take them maybe 90 seconds to get to there.  In addition to being close enough to save my house, the fire station also comforts me in a food way: BBQ.

Twice a year, for every year that I can remember, the fire station hosts a barbecue to raise money for itself.  With recipes that are top-secret and have been passed down, they have epitomized “good, ole’ Southern cookin’.”  When I was younger, I didn’t like BBQ or any of the sides.  Then I tried the banana puddin’ and I was a goner.  This pudding is better than any chocolate I’ve ever had (which is hard for me to say because I am a self-proclaimed chocoholic).  A few years later, I tried the white slaw.  (There is another version, the red slaw, which is vinegar based instead of mayo based.  I’ve been told this complements the vinegar BBQ best, but I’m a sucker for white slaw).  It was sweet and creamy, with just enough crunch to resonate with my developing taste buds.  Next, I tried the baked beans.  Yuck.  Maybe I’ll try those again in a few years.  Oddly enough, I tried the pork last.  But you know what they say: Save the best for last.  Folks, this truly is the best BBQ I have ever had.  Sorry, Stamey’s!

The pork and the slaw together creates this fantastic reaction in my mouth that I can’t resist and keep enjoying over and over as each new forkful goes in.  Just recently, I tried the beans again.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  How could I have passed this up for so long!?  They’re sweet and definitely have some kind of secret ingredient because I’ve never had beans like this before.  The whole platter comes together with each perfect bite and I can’t stop eating.  But I have to!  I have to save room for the banana puddin’.  (Yes, it’s puddin’ – not puddinG).

In any case, I got to eat this fantastic BBQ last weekend and it was mostly my sole reason for going home.  Unfortunately, I will probably be in Baltimore the next time it comes around, but I hope to return home to my roots and eat this yummy meal sometime soon!

2 Responses to “Fire Station BBQ”

  1. FF Robby Bryant April 11, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Mandi,

    Your Mom let us know you had blogged about our BBQ and I wanted to say “Thank You” for the kind words. A portion of the money we raise, coincidentally enough, goes to the Fire Department Relief Fund. This allows us to write a check on the spot to help people who have suffered a catastrophic loss due to fire. We will make sure we save you some BBQ in the Fall.
    Thanks again,
    FF Robby Bryant
    ORFD

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s almost March!? « Mandi's Cookbook - February 28, 2012

    […] I just found out about it from a friend and couldn’t wait to try it out. It’s no Fire Station BBQ, but it sure hit the spot and made me miss home. Since I didn’t contribute to the main […]

Leave a Reply

