Smile and say “Cheese!”

24 Aug

Recently, Gavin and I began a new workout regiment: P90X.  With this exercise routine comes a nutrition guide and diet.  The plan that we decided to follow is mostly about cutting carbs and eating enough proteins to continue the workout.  I started thinking about what parts of my diet were good enough to keep and what parts needed to hit the road.  This evaluation of my current diet got me thinking about all of my favorite foods that I had to give up.  For instance, cheese.

Cheese easily ranks within my top 5 favorite foods.  Maybe even top 3.  Just as a category.  I love cheddar, mozzarella, parmesan, feta, brie, and more.  Just today, I had a turkey and cheese roll-up: turkey lunch meat, topped with part-skim mozzarella cheese and then rolled up into a tube.  Delicious.  Not only is it delicious, but it also plays an important part in my dairy diet.

Unfortunately, I think I may have to dial down the cheese.  What am I going to do?  I put cheese on everything: spaghetti, meat, tortilla chips, sandwiches, salads and even fruit.  I may start to indulge more on cheese than I do on sweets and chocolate.  There’s just something about it that piqued my interest early in life and I hope to continue with forever.

Leave a Reply

